Franklin County Auditor
PO Box 1451
- The fee for a license in Franklin
County is $57.00.† This must be paid in cash (no
checks, no credit or debit cards).
- We do not process Marriage Applications after 4:30.
- Both the Applicants must come to the office and present picture
identification with birth date and signature (such as a driverís license or
state ID card).* At Age 17 we require signature from a parent granting
permission for the marriage. Parent must also present picture ID.* Under
age 17 you have to get permission (waiver) from a Judge before obtaining a
license. You need to contact the Benton-Franklin Counties Juvenile Justice
Center to apply for a waiver. They are located in Kennewick at 5606 W
Canal Place. Their phone number is (509) 783-2151.
(*) If both Applicants are unable to come to the office, a marriage
affidavit form can be utilized to facilitate obtaining the marriage license.
This form can also be utilized by the parent of a 17 year old who is applying
for a marriage license when they canít come to the office. The form must be
completed, notarized by a notary public, and the original signed document
provided when applying for the marriage license (faxes or copies not
acceptable). Click here to download the
- The application you complete for the marriage license requires basic
demographic information.† You will
need your fatherís name and birthplace and your motherís maiden name and
birthplace.† When completing the
application you need to provide legal names, not nick names.
- Once you get your license you will have a three (3) day waiting
period before your license is valid and then you will need to use it
within sixty (60) days.†
- The marriage ceremony must take place within Washington State to be
- You are not married until you go before a minister, priest or judge
and have a marriage ceremony.† You
must make your own arrangements for this.†
- State law prescribes who can perform a marriage ceremony: active and
retired Supreme Court justices, Court of Appeals judges, Superior Court
judges, Supreme Court commissioners, Court of Appeals commissioners,
Superior Court commissioners, and judges of courts of limited
jurisdiction, as well as any regularly licensed or ordained minister or
priest, imam, rabbi, or similar official of any religious organization.
See RCW 26.04.050 (http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.04.050) for a complete list.
A qualifying officiant from any state may perform
marriage ceremonies, but the ceremony must be performed in the State of
Washington. Neither applicant may perform the ceremony.
- If you need a certified copy of the official
marriage certificate you must request it from our office.† We do not automatically mail out
a copy.† The cost is $3.00.† You or your representative can stop by
our office and pick up a copy or you can send us a written request.† Please enclose both Applicant's legal
name at the time the application was done and the date of marriage.† Please make sure we have a contact phone
number and return address.
If you have any questions regarding marriage
licenses, please call us at (509) 545-3536 or email at RecordingMail@co.franklin.wa.us
Complete your marriage
application by clicking here.